In the State of Minnesota, over 30,000 drivers are arrested each year for driving while intoxicated. Many of those arrests happen on or near St. Patrick’s Day. The best way to have a great time on this holiday and avoid a DWI is to plan a sober ride, but if you should find yourself in trouble, some of the important things to know include:
First time offenders will incur a license revocation
- First-time offenders who have a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) under .16 should expect to receive a 90-day revocation. The driver has a choice of the following: (1) 15 days of no driving privileges and a limited license for remainder of the 90-day period or (2) Full driving privileges for 90-day period with use of ignition interlock. The 90 days is reduced to 30 days if the driver is convicted of DWI.
- If the driver’s BAC is .16 or over, the penalty is either one year without driving privileges OR one year of an ignition interlock restricted driver’s license. In addition, the license plates may be impounded.
- Refusals to submit under Minnesota’s implied consent laws result in mandatory license revocation of one (1) year for first offenders. The driver has a choice of the following: (1) 15 days of no driving privileges and a limited license for remainder of the year or (2) Full driving privileges for the year with use of ignition interlock.
Second and subsequent incidents carry lengthier revocation periods, and in some cases, ignition interlock is required.
The bottom line is if you or someone you know has been arrested for DWI, you need to contact a DWI attorney. F Clayton Tyler PA can help. Straight talk. Honest answers.